Multi Media Archives

The National Racing Hall of Fame released the names of 10 two- and four-legged finalists for enshrinement in its hallowed halls. The ballot includes four jockeys, four thoroughbreds and two trainers. Curlin, a winner of 11 of 16 and more than $10 million in purses, heads the equine contenders. Other nominees are Ashado, Xtra Heat, and Kona Gold. The jockeys are  Chris Antley, Garrett Gomez, Craig Perret and Alex Solis, Trainers Steve Asmussen and Gary Jones round out the field. Results will be announced April 25. And the ceremonies will take place in Saratoga Aug. 8. Today we pay tribute to Curlin. - tod marks